MotoVlogging Replacing Writing?

I will refrain from writing up a full recap of the Supercross race in Oakland over the weekend but it was probably some of the most exciting racing I’ve watched. In a nutshell, the 450cc class was turned upside down when Ken Roczen came up short on a jump and smashed his face into the bars; he regained his senses and finished the race, albeit in 16th place. The two from the black flag incident last week, Canard and Reed, rebounded in spectacular fashion with Reed leading several laps and Canard overtaking him to win his first SX final since 2011. The 250 class was just as exciting. You can find the two final races on youtube, just search “ama supercross 2015 rd 4”.

IMG_1008Speaking of YouTube, I’ve been organizing stuff to get me into a place where I can begin some serious motovlogging (for those who may not know, “vlogging” is simply blogging but using video and audio instead of writing). I’ve “vlogged” off and on over the years on training runs and mtb rides but never took it very seriously, which resulted in very shaky camera handling, high wind noise, muffled audio, and general low quality production.

Writing the footfeathers.com site regularly, I amassed over 500 blog posts but felt that much of it was a little too raw and personal, so made it private. I still write daily but keep it more as a normal journal, of sorts. What I’ve missed tremendously is the polishing required to lay something out for public consumption. The only outlet I’ve had for that purpose has been this site and the podcast shows at Elevation Trail, which is a lot fun and challenging. But I needed more. Yeah, I could try to produce two ET shows a week covering different topics but I sorta like to do multiple things with new challenges.

I’ve had my YouTube channel since April of 2007 and sadly had 8 subscribers as of last week. Of course, with the aforementioned quality and scarcity of videos I had done, it’s expected that only true, hardcore friends could stomach the prospect of clicking the Subscribe button. I found motovlogging about seven years ago when I stumbled upon M13, a Canadian who moved to Taiwan and vlogged around that country on his Ninja. He is the originator of motovlogging as it exists today. He also recently suffered a horrific crash that will likely take over a year to recover from.

Anyway, it never really occurred to me to motovlog myself until very recently. I had a GoPro Hero 3 that Teva had sent me free, was learning to ride my dirt bike, and watching a lot of other motovloggers, both dirt and road, from around the world. So, I started out setting up the gear and figuring out how to shoot, edit, and produce these things. It will be a learning experience, especially the editing part, but it’s filling that desire to create and polish something for public consumption, which I mentioned I was missing. The topics will be varied and will be a very similar “voice” as my base voice in the footfeathers writing, since I write like I talk, for better or worse.

bangs1With all that, here is Part 1 of a video I did yesterday: Bangs Canyon Part 1

Please Like, Share, and SUBSCRIBE. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

