Void of DNFs in Results, Race Directing, and Andrea Feucht

UAlogoorange1

Ultra Adventures logo. Website should be up before the end of September. http://www.ultra-adventures.com

Heavy show today, right down to a little glam rock intro.  Today Gary David, Andrea Feucht, and myself (Tim Long, duh) chat about several things, including DNFs not showing up in results, both in individual races and in accumulated race results like Ultrasignup.  We also discuss various aspects of race directing, my new partnership to form Ultra Adventures with our new, beautiful and unique ultra races – www.ultra-adventures.com and some other topics like overcrowding in ultras.  Download us in iTunes and take us with you on your runs this weekend.  Thanks for listening.

-Tim


3 thoughts on “Void of DNFs in Results, Race Directing, and Andrea Feucht

  1. Tim–
    Great to hear you mention the Deadman Peaks 50-miler! Made me happy to hear you say it was “hard.” I did it in 2011 and I agree. . . . I value the opinion of ultra runners more than those of my non-running friends. At least they can comprehend true suffering in terms of running. I believe that suffering has a lot to do with personal growth and that’s one reason why I run. . . . Knowing that someone DNF’d is all right with me. It’s ok to be a human and realize our limits. . . .

  2. I was listening to this podcast this weekend while running a 50k when I saw the FIRST OF NINE RATTLESNAKES ON THE COURSE. In related news, I almost DFL’d the race, and personally, don’t really care that there was probably a good handful of drops that aren’t listed for the race. When you’re that far in back of the pack, the issue doesn’t seem too important. If it did bug me, I’d tell myself that maybe I should instead concentrate on running a little faster…

  3. I’m with you guys. I think dnf’s should be noted and contribute to your overall score on ultrasignup. It kinda annoys me that in todays feel good culture that there are people that dnf a lot of their races (they do exist, I can think of at least 2-3 people that I know personally that do this) and still get credit for running the race. Everyone coddles these people and makes it seem like every time it happens it’s just plain old bad luck, or they congratulate them on going 50-70 miles in a hundred miler. When the goal is 100 miles, anything less is a failure or sorts, right?

Leave a Reply

